Examinotion
Exam Tips

AB-731 Exam Day 2026: What to Expect from Booking to Results (UK Guide)

A UK candidate guide to AB-731 exam day, covering booking on Pearson VUE, online proctoring versus test centres, exam format and timing, and how results and retakes work.

ET

Examinotion Team

10 min read2 September 2026Updated: 2 September 2026
AB-730 exam day guide for UK candidates with Pearson VUE booking and Microsoft Learn results

Last updated: September 2026

AB-731 Exam Day 2026: What to Expect from Booking to Results (UK Guide)

TL;DR: AB-731, the Microsoft Certified: AI Transformation Leader exam, is a 45-minute, closed-book, business-focused assessment scored out of 1,000, with 700 needed to pass. This guide walks UK candidates through booking on Pearson VUE, choosing online proctoring or a test centre, what happens on exam day, and how results and retakes work.

AB-731, the Microsoft Certified: AI Transformation Leader certification, is aimed at business decision-makers who guide AI transformation using Microsoft 365 Copilot, Azure AI, and Microsoft Foundry, without needing to write any code [1]. Microsoft classifies AB-731 at Beginner level in its own certification metadata, placing it in the Fundamentals exam band rather than the associate or expert tiers, which shapes almost everything about exam day, from duration to whether you get in-exam reference access [1][5]. This guide covers the journey from booking through to results.

What the AB-731 exam actually tests (2026 objectives at a glance)

AB-731 measures whether you can identify AI transformation opportunities, evaluate the right tools, plan adoption, and lead change, not whether you can code [1]. Candidates should have experience leading adoption or change management and familiarity with Microsoft 365, Microsoft Foundry, and general AI capabilities, rather than a prior certification [1].

There is no formal prerequisite exam. The current objectives reflect a 22 July 2026 terminology refresh across several Microsoft AI exams, but for AB-731 this was confirmed as a terminology-only change: no domain weighting moved and no content was added or removed [2].

How to book AB-731: Pearson VUE, cost and UK VAT

You book AB-731 by starting from the official certification page and selecting "Schedule exam," which routes you to Pearson VUE [1][3]. Microsoft strongly recommends registering with a personal Microsoft account rather than a work or school account, because exam history tied to an organisational account can become unrecoverable if you later leave that organisation [1].

Before you can schedule, your Microsoft Learn profile needs a legal name that exactly matches the photo ID you will present on exam day, otherwise you will not be able to sit the exam [3]. You can schedule up to two Microsoft Certification exams at a time, and bookings can be made no more than 90 days in advance [3].

On cost, Microsoft does not publish a fixed exam fee, stating only that price is "based on the country or region in which the exam is proctored" [1]. A figure of around US$99 is widely reported across third-party training sites for Fundamentals-tier Microsoft AI exams, but this is unconfirmed on an official Microsoft or Pearson VUE page, so treat it as a general guide rather than a quoted price. UK candidates will see VAT added at checkout, since Pearson VUE treats the UK as a domestic sale for exam-fee purposes [8], so confirm the exact GBP total on the Pearson VUE checkout screen at the point of booking. If you are looking to reduce that cost, our guide to Microsoft AI certification exam vouchers and discounts covers the legitimate routes.

Online proctored vs test centre: which to choose

Most candidates can choose between an online proctored exam (OnVUE) or a Pearson VUE test centre where both are offered in their region [3]. Microsoft describes test centres as "a great choice if you prefer a quiet, pre-configured environment without the worry of testing your computer and downloading software," which sums up the trade-off well [3].

Online proctoring gives you flexibility over location and timing, but shifts the setup and environment checks onto you. Before booking, run the official system check on the same computer and in the same room you plan to test from [4]. Sessions are recorded and may be reviewed using a combination of human proctors and AI monitoring technology, though final decisions are always made by a person, not the software [4]. If you would rather avoid recorded AI monitoring altogether, a test centre is the straightforward alternative. For a deeper walkthrough of the online-proctoring experience, see our Microsoft online proctored exam guide.

The day before: ID, system check and workspace rules

For online exams, you need a current government-issued photo ID with a name that exactly matches your Microsoft Certification profile. Expired documents, and name-change or renewal paperwork, are not accepted in place of the ID itself [4]. Set aside time to re-run your system check the day before, since network or hardware conditions can change between your first test and exam day [4].

Your testing space must be a private room with a closed door, free from interruption, with desks cleared of books, notes, extra monitors, and personal electronics [4]. You will be asked to complete a 360-degree scan of the room, and your phone must be placed out of arm's reach after check-in, though still within earshot in case the proctor needs to reach you [4]. Check-in opens 30 minutes before your appointment and closes 15 minutes after it, and typically takes around 15 minutes itself [4]. Build that buffer into your morning so a slow check-in does not eat into your 45-minute exam window.

Inside the exam: format, timing and interactive components

AB-731 runs for 45 minutes [1][5]. That duration matches Microsoft's generic "Fundamentals exams" band exactly, which is one of the clearest signals that AB-731 sits at Beginner level rather than associate or expert level [5]. Microsoft does not publish an exact question count for AB-731. Its general policy states that most Microsoft Certification exams contain roughly 40 to 60 questions, though the number varies by exam, so treat that as a rough guide rather than a fixed figure for AB-731 [5].

The official AB-731 page confirms "you may have interactive components to complete as part of this exam," without specifying which formats [1]. Microsoft deliberately does not disclose exam-specific question types in advance, to protect exam integrity [5]. Given AB-731's Fundamentals-band duration, hands-on labs are unlikely to appear, since labs are associated with the longer associate and expert role-based exams [5].

AB-731's 45-minute duration places it in Microsoft's Fundamentals-exam band, and in-exam Microsoft Learn access is reserved for role-based (associate/expert) exams, so candidates should not expect open-book access on AB-731 [5]. No assistance from another person or any AI tool is permitted, and no one else may view your screen [4]. Unscheduled breaks are allowed, with five minutes built in, but the clock keeps running and you cannot return to previously viewed questions once a break starts [5].

How the three skill domains are weighted

AB-731's skills outline, current as of 22 July 2026, defines three domains [2]:

Domain Weighting
Identify the business value of generative AI solutions 35-40%
Identify benefits, capabilities, and opportunities for Microsoft's AI apps and services 35-40%
Identify an implementation and adoption strategy for Microsoft's AI apps and services 20-25%

The first two domains carry the heaviest, roughly equal, weighting, covering generative AI business value and the Microsoft 365 Copilot and Foundry Tools ecosystem [2]. The third, worth the least at 20 to 25%, covers responsible AI governance, adoption planning, and licensing models [2]. This split has not shifted since the July 2026 terminology-only refresh, so it remains safe to study against.

What happens when you hit Submit: results and scoring

For most Microsoft exams, including exams like AB-731 that do not contain labs, results appear on screen within minutes of finishing [6]. Your formal score report is guaranteed to appear on your Microsoft Learn profile within 24 hours [6].

The report shows your overall numeric score, pass or fail status, and a bar chart of your relative performance across each skill domain, with shorter bars indicating weaker areas [6]. It does not disclose which individual questions you got wrong, or section-level numeric scores, only the bar chart [6]. There is no penalty for guessing, and multi-part questions can earn partial credit [6].

If you do not pass: retake policy and next steps

If you do not reach the required 700, Microsoft's retake policy for role-based, specialty, and Fundamentals exams, the bracket that covers AB-731, requires a 24-hour wait before your next attempt [7]. Every attempt after that needs a 14-day gap from the previous one, up to five attempts within 12 months of your original attempt date, after which the next eligible attempt is 12 months from that first sitting [7]. Each retake is paid separately, and a waiting-period waiver is only available for a genuine connectivity or equipment failure logged as a Pearson VUE case at the time [7]. See our guide to the Microsoft exam retake policy for a full breakdown of preparing for a second attempt.

AB-731 exam-day checklist (quick reference)

  • Confirm your Microsoft Learn profile name matches your photo ID exactly [3]
  • Re-run the OnVUE system check the day before, on the same device and room [4]
  • Clear your desk of notes, books, extra monitors, and personal electronics [4]
  • Arrive at check-in within the 30-minutes-before to 15-minutes-after window [4]
  • Expect a 45-minute, closed-book, no-labs format with possible interactive components [1][5]
  • Do not expect Microsoft Learn access during the exam [5]
  • Check your score on screen immediately, then your Learn profile within 24 hours [6]

Frequently Asked Questions

Is AB-731 an associate-level exam?

No. Microsoft's own certification metadata classifies AB-731 as Beginner level, and its 45-minute duration matches Microsoft's Fundamentals exam band rather than the longer associate and expert role-based exams. It is designed for business decision-makers, with no coding required, though the content itself still demands genuine preparation.

What score do I need to pass AB-731?

You need a score of 700 or higher on Microsoft's 1 to 1,000 scale to pass AB-731. Your results appear on screen within minutes of finishing, and the formal score report, including a skill-area breakdown, is guaranteed to reach your Microsoft Learn profile within 24 hours.

How much does the AB-731 exam cost in the UK?

Microsoft does not publish a fixed exam price, stating only that cost depends on the country or region where you sit the exam. Figures around US$99 are commonly reported for similar Fundamentals-tier exams but are unconfirmed by Microsoft. UK candidates should check the exact GBP price, including VAT, on Pearson VUE at checkout.

Can I use Microsoft Learn during the AB-731 exam?

Almost certainly not. In-exam Microsoft Learn access is reserved for role-based associate and expert exams, and AB-731's 45-minute duration places it firmly in the Fundamentals band, which does not receive that access. Prepare as though the exam is fully closed-book, with no reference material available.

What happens if I fail AB-731?

You must wait 24 hours before your first retake, then 14 days between any further attempts, up to a maximum of five attempts within 12 months of your original sitting. Each retake is paid separately, and a waiting-period waiver is only granted for documented connectivity or equipment failures during the exam itself.

Preparing for AB-731

AB-731 is a genuine business-leadership assessment, not a rubber-stamp certificate. Passing it requires understanding generative AI value and Microsoft's Copilot and Foundry ecosystem, all within a tight 45-minute, closed-book window. Structured, exam-format practice is the most reliable way to walk in prepared. Start practising for AB-731 with Examinotion's AB-731 practice tests, built around the current three-domain skills outline. If you are also weighing up Microsoft's companion exam, our AB-731 vs AB-730 comparison and the AB-730 exam-day guide explain how the two differ, and you can begin preparing on the AB-730 exam page.

Sources

  1. Microsoft Certified: AI Transformation Leader - Microsoft Learn, accessed September 2026
  2. AB-731 study guide - Microsoft Learn, accessed September 2026
  3. Register and schedule an exam - Microsoft Learn, accessed September 2026
  4. Take an online exam with OnVUE - Microsoft Learn, accessed September 2026
  5. Exam duration and exam experience - Microsoft Learn, accessed September 2026
  6. Exam scoring and reports - Microsoft Learn, accessed September 2026
  7. Retake policy - Microsoft Learn, accessed September 2026
  8. EU VAT tax FAQs - Pearson VUE, accessed September 2026

Preparing for a Microsoft AI Certification?

Try 5 free practice questions with detailed explanations, no credit card required.

Lifetime access280+ questions per exam7-day money-back guarantee
Start Practising Today

Ready to Pass Your Exam?

Don't leave your certification to chance. Prepare with realistic practice questions, case studies, and detailed explanations for every answer.

No credit card required • Instant access

Can we do better?